ICMRBS Early Career Researcher Webinar Series


The ICMRBS is proud to support a webinar series for early career researchers working on magnetic resonance in biological systems. If you would like to present, please contact one of our committee (details below). For the latest news related to the webinars follow our Twitter account. Check out our Instagram page.

Our next event is 21st April 2021, 6 a.m. PDT | 9 a.m. EDT | 10 a.m. BRT | 2 p.m. BST (UK) | 3 p.m. CEST | 4 p.m. IDT (Israel) | 6:30 p.m. IST (India) | 9 p.m. CST (China) | 11 p.m. AEDT (Australia).

To join: Zoom link (Meeting-ID: 865 3355 7273 Password: ICMRBSECR)



ICMRBS ECR Committee

Angelo Gallo A.Gallo.1@warwick.ac.uk
Karoline Sanches karoline.sanches1@monash.edu
Nick Fowler n.j.fowler@sheffield.ac.uk
Reid Alderson reid.alderson@utoronto.ca
Yanni Chin yanni.chin@imb.uq.edu.au

ICMRBS YouTube channel

Past webinars in this series will be made available via the ICMRBS YouTube channel.

ICMRBS Mailing List

Please email Kevin Gardner if you’d like to be added to the ICMRBS mailing list for news of upcoming conferences and affiliated events.

Previous speakers

29th September 2020 - Structural Biology

Assessing the structure and interactions of γD-crystallin deamidation variants
Alex Guseman, University of Pittsburgh USA

Probing the mechanism of inhibition of amyloid fibril formation by the chaperonin GroEL
Marielle Wälti, National Institute of Health USA

High-resolution ex vivo NMR spectroscopy of human Z ɑ1-antitrypsin
Chris Waudby, University College London UK

28th October 2020 - Nucleic Acids / Protein-Nucleic Acid Interactions

Extending the Sensitivity of CEST NMR Spectroscopy to Micro‐to‐Millisecond Dynamics in Nucleic Acids Using High‐Power Radio‐Frequency Fields
Atul Rangadurai, Duke University USA

Ribosomal RNA – dynamic regions of E.coli h44
Hampus Karlsson, Karolinska Institutet Sweden

Modulation of pre-mRNA structure by hnRNP proteins regulates alternative splicing of MALT1 in T cells
Alisha Jones, TU Munich Germany

How I got by with a little help from my friends
Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh USA

25th November 2020 - Drug Discovery / Development

Targeting BRD3-ET using a Fragment Based Drug Discovery approach
Lorna White, University of Sydney Australia

NMR in target driven drug discovery: why not?
Marta Carneiro, ZoBio Netherlands

NMR-based structural and dynamic characterization of bacterial enzymes in fragment-based drug design
Stefan Nebl, Monash University Australia

Going south: An incoherent journey in magnetic resonance
Frances Separovic, University of Melbourne Australia

16th Decemeber 2020 - Solid State NMR

The hepatitis B virus capsid seen by solid-state NMR
Lauriane Lecoq, CNRS France

Spin labelled peptide for in-cell DNP solid-state NMR
Marc Sani, The University of Melbourne Australia

Impacts of protein deuteration and MAS rate on 1H-13C solid-state distance measurements
Andrew Nieuwkoop, Rutgers University USA

Your career from A to Z: Learning from my mistakes
Arthur Palmer, Columbia University USA

10th February 2021

Conformational flexibility of GRASP proteins and their constituent PDZ subdomains reveals structural basis of their promiscuous interactome
Luis Felipe Santos Mendes, The University of São Paulo (Brazil)

An intrinsically disordered motif regulates the interaction between the p47 adaptor and the p97 AAA+ ATPase
Rui Huang, University of Guelph (Canada)

High pressure switches the β1-adrenergic receptor to the active state in the absence of G protein
Layara Abiko, Universität Basel (Switzerland)

24th February 2021

Using Deep Learning for NMR Spectral Reconstruction and Virtual Decoupling
Gogulan Karunanithy, University College London, UK

Characterizing the complex between Lyn kinase and the growth hormone receptor using NMR and molecular simulations
Sowmya Indrakumar, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Enzyme activity regulation beyond allostery: Substrate discrimination via a proline switch in beta-phosphoglucomutase from Lactococcus lactis
F. Aaron Cruz-Navarrete, University of Sheffield, UK

10th March 2021

NMR-assisted Analyses of Nucleic Acid Therapeutics
Pallabi Sengupta, Quretech Bio, Sweden

Glycan Assignment and Quantification in Microalgae Using in-cell 13C Solid-State NMR
Alexandre Poulhazan, Université du Québec, Canada

A new method for B1 calibration using small molecule CEST
Ahallya Jaladeep, Indian Institute of Science, India

24th March 2021

The dynamical closed state of a bacterial ion channel
Marta Bonaccorsi, ENS-Lyon, France

Two-dimensional reconstruction of distance distributions in pulse dipolar EPR spectroscopy via singular value decomposition
Thomas Schmidt, National Institutes of Health, USA

NMR structural studies of how the proteasome subunit hRpn13 interacts with ubiquitinated substrates and the proteasome
Xiuxiu Lu, National Cancer Institute, USA

7th April 2021

Hsp70 chaperone diversity achieved by Hsp40 class specific regulation
Ofrah Faust, Weizmann Institute, Israel

How accurate is your NMR structure? We have the ANSURR!
Nick Fowler, University of Sheffield, UK

Making sense of cross-correlated relaxation in flexible proteins
Clemens Kauffmann, University of Vienna, Austria